Kate is one of six lucky mountain bike enthusiasts to be chosen for Liv's Trail Squad - a tribe of women brought together by one goal: complete the 2018 Absa Cape Epic. Learn from Kate and the rest of the Squad: 

XC Racing Guide

Follow Kate

Follow Kate on Instagram!
TeamTrail Squad
BirthdateMay 18, 1979
HometownMelbourne, Australia 
SpecialtyI enjoy climbing, mostly because it means a fun descent on the other side! But we'll have to wait and see if I can claim 'climbing' as a specialty until after the Cape Epic is done.
What is your day job?Economic policy adviser with the Victorian Government Department of Economic Development, Jobs, Transport, and Resources.
What is your biggest achievement?The achievement I'm most proud of is finishing middle of the pack in the Golden Triangle Epic 50km when my third child was just 8 months old. Because at that time in my life, it felt near impossible for me to ride that far on my mountain bike. It had only been 5 months since I'd started trying to regain my fitness post-baby. But I did it.
What is your goal for 2017 and beyond?

My riding goals are to complete my first stage race - the Cape to Cape in Margaret River, Western Australia - and race the Bright 24hr in a pair. The big goal is the Cape Epic in South Africa in March 2018!!!

Why do you love cycling?

I love the feeling of freedom. Freedom from my thoughts and worries. Freedom from my family responsibilities. My time on the bike is time just for me and I always feel refreshed and alive when I come back from a ride.

Why do you love riding for Liv?I love the supportive community Liv has created for women in cycling. Showcasing the incredible women from all walks of life that get out there and ride.
What is one item you would never leave home without?My phone. In case I need to call an ambulance for my son who is at risk of anaphylaxis, or my son's carers need to contact me.
If you could learn a new sport or skill this year, what would it be?

Bunny hopping and riding berms fast and with confidence.

What is your favorite place to travel?Bright in the Victorian High Country. It is a gorgeous part of the world - bush, the river and the mountains. And the riding is amazing!
What is your favorite food? 

So hard to pick a favorite food, I love all food (except eggs). But Southeast Asian cuisine and fruit would be up there.

Who is your favorite riding partner?

I love a date ride with my partner, Joel. And an opportunity to ride with my high school friend, Jo, is always a highlight.

How do you spend your time off the bike?

At work. And with my partner and our three children doing all the things that need to get done to keep a family happy.

What do you want to be "when you grow up"?

Content with whatever it is that I am doing.

 Words you live by...Just have a go. You never know until you try.