Select your country or region

Choose your category

Choose your category

Liv-Plantur Celebrates a Successful Road Season; Welcomes New Riders and Name in '17


Road World Championships concluded in Doha, Qatar for the women on Saturday, October 15 after a hot and humid six days of racing. The race marked the end of an exciting road season for some of the Liv-Plantur team riders and shifted focus to changes in 2017.

Liv-Plantur will become Team Sunweb for the upcoming season, adding some notable riders to its roster. Returning talents Leah Kirchmann, Rozanne Slik and Floortje Mackaij welcome RaboLiv transplant Lucinda Brand, Dutch European TT Champion and 2016 ITT World Championship silver medalist Ellen van Dijk, and European junior road champion from Germany, Liane Lippert.

Looking back, 2016 started strong for Liv-Plantur with a series of stellar performances from team leader Leah Kirchmann. Beginning with back-to-back top-5 finishes at Belgian semi-classics Omloop Het Nieuwsblad and Omloop van het Hageland in February, Kirchmann battled tough early season conditions to edge out other top-level riders like her new teammate Lucinda Brand. Just a few weeks later, Kirchmann grabbed her first victory of the season and first ever win in Europe at Drentse Acht van Westerveld.

The women of Liv-Plantur also came away with a few podium spots during National Championships back in June. Sara Mustonen (Sweden), Molly Weaver (UK), and Leah Kirchmann (Canada) landed silver and two bronze medals, respectively.

Continuing with Liv-Plantur’s “Keep Challenging” approach for 2017, the team’s new partnership with Swiss-based Sunweb and continued alliance with Liv as product sponsor will allow for growth and investment in a new rider development program. Team Sunweb riders will continue to provide valuable product feedback to help develop the bikes and gear they will use during training and races.

Here’s a look at the 2017 roster for Team Sunweb’s women’s team:  

Lucinda Brand (the Netherlands)

Leah Kirchmann (Canada)

Juliette Labous (France)

Liane Lippert (Germany)

Floortje Mackaij (the Netherlands)

Coryn Rivera (USA)

Rozanne Slik (the Netherlands)

Julia Soek (the Netherlands)

Sabrina Stultiens (the Netherlands)

Ellen van Dijk (the Netherlands)

Molly Weaver (UK) 

Monday, October 17, 2016