Select your country or region

Choose your category

Choose your category

Ellen Van Dijk Powers to Podium Finishes at Ladies Tour of Norway!


Team Sunweb’s Ellen Van Dijk capped off a successful week of racing on Sunday with a second place finish at the Ladies Tour of Norway. Fighting for the win, Van Dijk narrowly missed out on stage glory but was rewarded with third in the general classification for her dominance during the four-day race.

Beginning with a 3 km Time Trial Prologue, Van Dijk flew to a leading time that held strong throughout the race, despite her hesitations about her abilities on the short course. Teammate Juliette Labous also found her way into the top ten, finishing 6th just four seconds behind Van Dijk.

Perhaps the most interesting race of the week, Stage 2 consisted of strong winds and 140 km of relatively flat terrain. With one lap of the circuit to go, Team Sunweb rider Leah Kirchmann was out front with three other riders and a gap of 30 seconds when a drawbridge suddenly stopped the riders in their tracks. The peloton caught the lead pack and the riders were forced to start all together once the bridge was reopened. Taking advantage, Van Dijk sprinted to third with Floortje Mackaij also making it into the top ten in 7th.

Though Van Dijk did not achieve her attempted win on the last stage, her second place and Mackaij’s 5th on the stage secured the overall team classification for Team Sunweb.

“It was a fun week of racing with the team,” said Van Dijk. “We were always dominant and created a lot of the action. Each rider did a perfect job. It was also impressive to see our young riders racing so well and being so committed to their jobs. We wanted to make the race hard and the team worked very well together to do so. I was pleased to win the prologue but a little bit disappointed to miss out on the win today. To win the team GC was a great reward for our style of racing this week.”

The women raced the Ladies Tour of Norway aboard their Langma Advanced team bikes.

Tuesday, August 22, 2017